Did somebody back into you at Frontier Town or do a sudden stop while in heavy traffic on Red Mountain Freeway? Once you have decided that you are free of bruises or broken bones and checked on the status of the other car’s passengers, what do you do next?
Bring in the Scottsdale Police Department and Your Vanyo Insurance Agent ASAP
Whether you encountered trouble out at the McDowell Sonoran Preserve or while exiting off Highway 101, if you think there is at least $1000 in damage to the cars, you should call 911 or the Scottsdale PD immediately. In Arizona, the police are required to file a report for accidents involving physical injury, damage of $1000, or when a citation is issued in conjunction with the incident. If you are physically fine, you should then call your agent at Vanyo Insurance and get the ball rolling.
A Handy Checklist to Help Collect the Right Information
- A pen and paper will do, but your smartphone is a great means of recording all the details.
- Record the name and address of the driver, their driver’s license number, and the make and model of the car and its license plate.
- If you can take a pic of their license and plate, it guarantees accurate reporting of details.
- Grab their insurance information–just the name of their insurance company should be sufficient. Every vehicle registered in Arizona is required to carry minimal coverage for liability and property damage.
- Get the name, address, and phone number of any passengers and witnesses.
- Use the camera on your phone to take images of the cars, the damage, and the intersection.
- Stand back to get a wide-angle shot of the entire situation and then move in closer for details.
- Take note of the road, traffic signs, lights, and any surrounding property. Grab as many pictures as possible.
- Write down any impressions you have of the accident.
- Speak to the responding police officer, providing any information that they require. Try to avoid speaking to the other party beyond inquiring after their health and safety.
- Get the police report number and when it will be available at the station.
What to Say and When to Say Nothing
After an accident, it is always wise to help the other driver get medical assistance and the police to complete their report properly. You are required to provide your driver’s license, insurance, and vehicle information. You are not required to determine who was at fault or to admit fault. In fact, doing so can result in a report and claim that goes against your account and record, when that may not be how it really happened. It is best to wait and speak to your agent at Vanyo Insurance before sharing your impressions of the incident.
As always, if you have any questions regarding your policy, the claims process, and how to find a repair shop in Scottsdale & the surrounding area to get your ride looking its best, give us a call at Vanyo Insurance. We can provide the calm support and direction you need in these moments of crisis.